FRESH!

This is an entry for the challenge on This Thursday.

Now we mused for a while about what our 1st challenge should be, and as we are a fresh, new challenge blog, and the basic idea behind the challenges is to find fresh inspiration, products or techniques and look at different art and craft areas for fresh ideas, so we decided that our 1st challenge should be simply

FRESH. whether you use the word, the definition, fresh colours, fresh products, or fresh techniques. However the word Fresh inspires you, and whatever it inspires you to create we want to see it.

Well – this set me to thinking … and I had no ideas whatsoever!!!

Anyway – this afternoon I needed a card for our babysitter and had very little time to make one as it’s my son’s birthday and he had a friend coming to tea. I had a quick look through my box of made cards and none seemed right – as I was doing this I picked out loads that had been there for yonks and just not sold. Decided to update them and FRESHen them up – probably counts as altered art too!

Here are the before and after piccies 🙂 The first one is the one that gave me the whole idea and the colour is very FRESH too!!!!

The next few were from cards that I made with wallpaper border scraps

I re-used one myself as an Easter card ages ago and one sold but the other three remained obstinately unsold so … some doodling, some rub ons, some peel-offs and some stamps later …

One I made with paperweaving following a ‘how to’ in Let’s Make Cards – never sold – maybe the size or the fact that the weaving grew so large that the only card I had to fit it was black. Anyhow … a lot of glitter later 🙂

The following one was one of my earliest cards – green blank with three peel-offs stuck on contrasting card and then mounted on the green blank – thought it the height of sophistication at the time LOL! I moved one of the presents and added a diecut paper pieced present on a metal background, doodling dots on the ribbon of the present.

Final one was a coloured in peel-off which I also thought the height of sophistication at the time with a clean uncluttered look – added watercolours, distressing, and paper, sequin and bead embellishments …

So – there you have it – FRESH looks to old cards – Have to see how they sell now!!!

5 Responses to “FRESH!”

  1. susie Says:

    Great job with Freshening up your cards Eve.
    Thanks for playing along!xx

  2. Tracey aka rattytatty Says:

    Thanks for joining in with our 1st challenge . Wow so many cards. Love the way you have Freshened the cards up. Great take on the challenge. Glad we inspired you. I think my favs are the 1st and last cards

  3. tiggertasitc Says:

    WOW WOW WOW, you have been so busy, what stunning cards, your fresh work is fantastic.

    sarah x

  4. magickdiva Says:

    What a great idea – to use the challenge as a way of freshening up other projects – inspired – thanks for joining in with This Thursday

  5. challenge 1 round up « This Thursday, it’s all about… Says:

    […] and finally the lucky winner picked by randon number generator  is Eve or Ultramum and here is one of her many refreshed (old cards given a new look) which you can see here  https://ultramum.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/fresh/ […]


Leave a comment