This Too Shall Pass

This Too Shall Pass

If I can endure for this minute
Whatever is happening to me,
No matter how heavy my heart is
Or how dark the moment may be-

If I can remain calm and quiet
With all the world crashing about me,
Secure in the knowledge God loves me
When everyone else seems to doubt me-

If I can but keep on believing
What I know in my heart to be true,
That darkness will fade with the morning
And that this will pass away, too-

Then nothing in life can defeat me
For as long as this knowledge remains
I can suffer whatever is happening
For I know God will break all of the chains

That are binding me tight in the darkness
And trying to fill me with fear-
For there is no night without dawning
And I know that my morning is near.

…Helen Steiner Rice

3 Responses to “This Too Shall Pass”

  1. Shirley Pickford Says:

    Hope you are OK. The poem reminds me of Hopkins:I WAKE and feel the fell of dark, not day.
    What hours, O what black hoürs we have spent
    This night! what sights you, heart, saw; ways you went!
    And more must, in yet longer light’s delay.
    With witness I speak this. But where I say
    Hours I mean years, mean life. And my lament
    Is cries countless, cries like dead letters sent
    To dearest him that lives alas! away.
    I am gall, I am heartburn. God’s most deep decree
    Bitter would have me taste: my taste was me;
    Bones built in me, flesh filled, blood brimmed the curse.
    Selfyeast of spirit a dull dough sours. I see
    The lost are like this, and their scourge to be
    As I am mine, their sweating selves; but worse.

  2. Eve T Says:

    That is really mournful! A bit like Psalm 88 – the only psalm that doesn’t end on an uplifting note … Hopkins knew what it was to be depressed but at least he seems to come out of it in "My own heart let me more have pity on … "

  3. Shirley Pickford Says:

    I looked up Psalm 88 as I was curious. I’m glad I didn’t know the psalm at some dark moments over the last couple of years, because sometimes hope was the only light in my day. Also a recognition that "this too shall pass", which resonates with me today when the sun is shining on the growing daffodils.


Leave a Reply

