Serendipity

It has always been a family saying that we are related to William Willett (Daylight Saving) – my grandfather on my mother's side was Albert Willett and I have a dim recollection of William supposedly being some sort of cousin. I haven't found a link despite getting back to the beginning of the 1800s in family history (Thanks to my mother!)

Doing a bit more research recently I came across the fact that there is a link between me and William Willett BUT not via my mother's line … via my father's ancestors!

My great (x3) grandmother was Mary Box and her sister Maria Box married William Willett Snr – their son was the William Willett of Daylight Saving!

I think that makes us first cousins four times removed … if I have my brain in gear!

Leave a Reply

