Dreadful decoupage!

I don’t do a lot of decoupage as I find it too fiddly to cut out.

I wanted to do a couple of special cards for our parents for Christmas – I’m buying most of ours as I don’t have the time to make all the cards that I send out. I spied and bought a Dufex die-cut Christmas decoupage sheet at the Range for £1.99 in order to make two cards.  Here it is:

Well – it was a complete nightmare!!! The centre medallions came out ok but there were loads of little white ‘tags’ left where the die cut had been done 😦

The buildings were ok but the angels and stars :-0 :-0 :-0 :-0 :-0 :-0  words fail me! They didn’t come out cleanly and I broke two of the angels’ arms trying to remove the tiny silver piece in the crook of their elbows. The stars were so badly cut that they wouldn’t come out adn eventually the foil front came off where I was trying to get them out. Ended up using a pointed pokey tool which got them out but didn’t do them a lot of good. The angels’ haloes I never even attempted as they were even smaller than the stars. I also don’t posess any silicon glue but do wonder whtehr it would actually be feasible to use this in such tiny quantities as seemes to be required by these fiddly items.

I wonder if the designers have actually tried to make these kits up – interestingly the instructions didn’t actually feature this particular design in the pictures!!!!

I gave up on the angels – one layer apiece and no extra halo and none on the greeting bar at the base … here’s the first card – girding my loins for the other 😦

I’m gonna see if anyone has a Christmas challenge on at all and enter this in it if it fits the criteria cos it certainly was a challenge!!!!!! LOL! There is a Christmas challenge over on A Spoon Full of Sugar!

2 Responses to “Dreadful decoupage!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    They are beautiful though maybe you should contact Dufex and share your experience with them!

  2. Debbie Says:

    Gorgeous card ,Thanks for playing along this week,Hugs Debbie x


Leave a Reply

