Quotation challenge

Another challenge – this time at daring cardmakers:

So for my dare I’d like to see what happens when our starting point is the same quotation:
Use what talents you possess: the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.
Henry Van Dyke

I’d like you to use this quotation somewhere on your card It doesn’t have to be on the front, or even need to be immediately visible. You could perhaps print it on vellum, add it on a tag, put it inside the card, or chop it up and use all the words “ransom note” style. I’ve chosen this quotation because I think we sometimes need reminding that everyone is special in their own way, and everyone, without exception has a talent to bring to the world – we should all value our own talents and those of other people more than we do

Here’s my card – not easy to see but I used my Sakurs white gloss pen to go over the white on the backing paper. If the ribbon looks a little skew and off centre it’s cos the bird was actually on the right of the page and I had to trim and fit the paper to get it where I wanted – the ribbon covers the join!!! The birds are from an old poster – hubby was keen birdwatcher. The backing paper is from Dovecraft Designer Papers – Kate Knight – Aqua 12 x 12

3 Responses to “Quotation challenge”

  1. Jozza Says:

    Fab fabby card! Love what you have done with the quote and the birds look great. The pattern on the backing paper really “pops” after using the white gel pen. Great stuff! xxx

  2. Yet another challenge! « Ultramum’s Blog Says:

    […] Designer Papers – Kate Knight – Aqua 12 x 12 – for the backing – in fact the offcut from the quotation challenge that I did the other day! The two small rectangles are from paper that I got from Sequin in my […]

  3. Kathy Says:

    You’ve used the quotation in such a clever way, and all the birds look fab. Thanks for joining in


Leave a Reply

